Author: Alex Lidell

Narrator: Hayden Daviau

Length: 6 hours and 21 minutes

Serie: Scout Series, Book 1

Publisher: Danger Bearing Press

Released: May 21, 2018

Genre: YA Fantasy

To protect the throne, 17-year-old spy Kali must play a male guardsman trainee by day and royal lady by night.

Orphaned and trained on a spymaster’s remote estate, Kali is a scout who works alone in the shadows. But when a terror group threatens the Dansil throne, the king forces Kali to accept a mission at the palace or forfeit her sister’s life.

Suddenly thrust into the light, Kali must infiltrate high society as the royal Lady Lianna while penetrating the servant ranks as Kal, a male guardsman trainee. It doesn’t help that Trace, the harsh and enigmatic captain of the king’s guard, is soon assigned as both Lady Lianna’s palace escort and Kal’s commanding officer.

As Kali edges closer to the truth behind the violent group’s identity, she uncovers dangerous secrets that could bring her mission to a brutal end. A scout’s job is to observe and report, never to engage…but if it means saving her sister and kingdom, Kali may have no choice.

Tracing Shadows, by Amazon best-selling author Alex Lidell, is the first novel in the Scout series. Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Leigh Bardugo, and Sarah J. Maas.

Alex Lidell is the author of Amazon best sellers AIR AND ASH and WAR AND WIND (Danger Bearing Press, 2017) and an Amazon Breakout Novel Awards finalist author of THE CADET OF TILDOR (Penguin, 2013). She is an avid horseback rider, a (bad) hockey player, and an ice-cream addict. Born in Russia, Alex learned English in elementary school, where a thoughtful librarian placed a copy of Tamora Pierce’s ALANNA in Alex’s hands. In addition to becoming the first English book Alex read for fun, ALANNA started Alex’s life long love for YA fantasy books.

WebsiteFacebook

The voice narration by Hayden is good, but at times I felt she spoke too quickly. Overall her voice narration for the different characters is distinct and full of emotion. There were a couple times that long pauses were used, I think due to some editing. It felt a little off and broke up the story for me. I would give the audio a 4/5 stars.

The storyline by Lidell is good, although I think it could go into more depth. Listening to this story I was wondering why things had turned out the way they did for some characters, and I do think we get some answers by the end. Just not enough I’d say to feel completely secure with where the story is going. I also felt with characters like Violet that they were used to spice up the novel, but also didn’t go too deep with them as well. I would give the story a 3.5-4/5 stars. It’s a well written novel, I just want more attachment to my characters and setting!

I received this audiobook as part of my participation in a blog tour with Audiobookworm Promotions. The tour is being sponsored by Alex Lidell. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.

Jul. 26th:

History from a Woman’s Perspective

The Book Junkie Reads . . .

Jul. 27th:

Dab of Darkness Audiobook Reviews

Jul. 28th:

In Pattis Imagination

Jul. 29th:

Smada’s Book Smack

Book Addict

Jul. 30th:

Declarations of a Fangirl

Adventures Thru Wonderland

Jul. 31st:

Lilly’s Book World

The Book Addict’s Reviews

Aug. 1st:

Sefina Hawke’s Books

Writers N Authors

The Book Recluse Review

➜Sign up as a host here