goindienowsept

Hey guys!! I’ve been loving the Go Indie Now box that I bought the September one while I’m waiting for my November box to come later this month 🙂 This month’s theme was about appreciating life, while understanding what could be & what has been. The books are themed with different perspectives, just as we have different perspectives.

Item #1: To smell. Steam Engine Scent Pack by Adventurescents. I’m not sure exactly what it smells like, definitely doesn’t smell like an engine haha. I’m thinking more like fall and spices.

Item #2: To Hear. Steampunk playlist. This goes with one of the books I received in the box. Never heard steampunk music before, but I’m sure it’ll be a treat!! I’ll also let you guess which book it goes with when I reveal what books I received.

Item #3: To See. Steam Frog Artprint. The mechanical frog just looks so cute!! It’s a really great decoration and was designed by the owner of this book box company!

Item #4: To Taste. Gear Shaped Pasta Salad Recipe. I love love love me some pasta salad!! Can’t wait to try this recipe out 🙂 The recipe reads:

  • 1 pound box of Piccolini (wheel shaped pasta)
  • 3 ounces of juliene cut, smoked sun dried tomatoes
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 small red onion, chopped
  • Parmesan cheese to taste
  • Dressing:
    • 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
    • 3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
    • 1 tablespoon dijon mustard
    • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
    • salt & pepper to taste
  • Directions:
    • Cook pasta as directed on box. Once finished, drain & mix with sun-dried tomatoes, onion, and parmesan cheese.
    • Mix all dressing ingredients together & toss salad in the sauce.
    • Chill until you want to eat

Item #5: To Touch. Steampunk Themed Crocheted Gear Coaster. It’s so soft!! And looks so cute 🙂

Item #6: A bookish coloring book. Gonna get my coloring on while smelling the steampunk scent pack and listening to the steampunk music playlist!!

Item #7: Potpourri. Smells great! In the shape of shells 🙂

Item #8: The Cogsmith’s Daughter by Kate Colby. P.S. this is the book that has inspired pretty much every item in this box. Two hundred years ago a steam powered world experienced an apocalyptic flood. The survivors settled around their steamship in a place they called Desertera. Everyone believed the flood happened due to a vengeful goddess, who was upset over adultery. Now anyone accused of it is executed. King Archon uses that to his advantage by getting new wives and accusing them of adultery. Aya Cogsmith’s father was executed by the king for treason. She is helped by Lord Varick, whose daughter has recently fallen victim to the king, to seduce Archon. This story reminds me a lot of the bible story of Esther. In that story I believe her cousin was accused of treason, and she was fighting for her people to stop being killed. There was a contest to see who was most beautiful, and she was helped to catch the king’s attention so that she could get him to stop a law that was hurting her people. Although Amazon says that it’s reminiscent of 1001 Arabian Nights. Idk, guess I’ll find out when I read it!

Item #9: The Surrendered by Case Maynard. A dystopian novel about the United States financial collapse. The new government imposes taxes on children. Vee & Oliver’s parents give up the twins to work at the Mills. They work there for 6 yearsand try to stay off the Master’s radar as much as possible. Both only have 1 year left in service, when Vee discovers something awful happening to the younger girls in service there. She takes a stand and ends up on the run outside the fence for the first time. She must somehow get groups of people to band together to help save the children and brother she left behind! While not a fan of dystopian in general, this sounds promising. I look forward to reading it!

Bonus Items: Many many many bookmarks. 10! And some card decorations.

A thank you note for the support I’ve given Go Indie Now!

And a card wishing me the ability to gain new perspectives through this book box!

As always I’m not compensated in anyway for unboxings or reviews. Hope you enjoyed!! Please take a look at their CrateJoy page if you think you might enjoy!!

https://goindienow.cratejoy.com/

