indiebox

Hi everybody! I received the Go Indie Now! Box a couple days ago and wanted to share the loveliness that is this homemade box 🙂 This box, unlike many of the mainstream ones, is homemade by a lovely woman who shares the same first name as me: Ashley. It truly shows how much she cares when you open this package. It is divided into the 5 senses: sight, taste, hear, smell, and touch. I love the original idea behind giving a gift to all 5 senses in each box. It reminds me of having a girls’ night in where you make your own spa esthetic to relax.

Item #1: TO SEE. A print of Gabriel Davenport inspired by the book. This is just beautiful 🙂 Whoever this artist is, you go!

Item #2:  TO HEAR. A playlist of songs on youtube from the goindienow channel to listen while reading the book. Each box whether you receive the fiction, poetry, or romance subscription has its own playlist created each month to listen to while reading the books. The songs are even divided up into what chapters to read them for! I love the dark wintry songs, and the slightly haunting tunes in this playlist! Ashley helped me get in the mood for October!

Item #3: TO TASTE. A recipe for Cemetery Punch

  • 2 liters diet root beer
  • 24 gummy worms
  • 1 pint low-fat vanilla frozen yogurt
  • 1 pint low-fat chocolate frozen yogurt

I don’t know about you guys, but this sounds delicious! I may add some naughty twists for my Halloween Birthday 😉

Item #4: TO SMELL. Haunted Chamber scent pack. It came with a little holster and smells a little like cinnamon, but also garden herbs. I think I’ll be hanging this guy near the litter box to keep away the bad smells haha.

I didn’t receive anything to touch this month, because I had wanted to try out the indie box, and now that I have, I can honestly say I love it! I now will receive 2 books a month and something to touch as well. For those who want to stay at the 1 book a month price point you can change each month if you want something to smell or touch depending on how you’re feeling. Now onto the last item!

Item #5: The Making of Gabriel Davenport by Beverley Lee. The books featured in the indie box are those that people would not have heard of. They are not widely publicized, and often are self published or published by small companies. That is not to say these books suck. Who here has read or know of books that were extremely well publicized, but didn’t turn out to be written very well or were just not as good as you thought they would be? I know I have. The publicity behind a book isn’t what makes it great, the words are what matter.

A brief synopsis of this book: Gabriel is trying to find answers about his past. His life begins to unravel as he discovers those he trusts and loves are harboring secrets. Gabriel must confront the events that destroyed his family as a child. His choice is either to continue living a lie or give himself over to a new reality.

This seems like it will be a slightly spooky read for October. Not terrifying like Stephen King, but not innocent like the Ghosts Don’t Eat Potato Chips books. (Who else remembers those?)

If you enjoyed the items on the list and think this box may be for you please check out their FB page and their listing under CrateJoy. Go Indie Now!

https://www.facebook.com/goindienowbox/

Bonus: I found a card that was handwritten wishing me a Happy Halloween ❤

